ICPSR Announces the 2015 Warren E. Miller Award and William H. Flanigan Award Winners






The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research is proud to announce that James Jackson and Gary King have been named the 2015 Miller Award winners, and Michael Martinez has been named the 2015 Flanigan Award Winner.

Jackson was Director of the University of Michigan's renowned Institute for Social Research (ISR) from 2005 to 2015. He is a research professor at the Research Center for Group Dynamics, ISR, Professor of Afroamerican and African Studies and the Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology. Jackson's research focuses on issues of racial and ethnic influences on life course development, attitude change, reciprocity, social support, and coping and health among blacks in the Diaspora.

King is an Albert J. Weatherhead III University Professor of Government at Harvard University and director of Harvard's Institute for Quantitative Social Science. His more than 150 journal articles, 20 open source software packages, and 8 books span most aspects of political methodology, many fields of political science, and several other scholarly disciplines. His work is widely read across scholarly fields and beyond academia.

Martinez is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Florida. His broad research interests include the relationship between partisanship, issue preferences, and voter choice, as well as the causes and consequences of voter participation. Martinez has been the ICSPR Official Representative at the University of Florida since the mid-1990s. He also serves as the ICPSR coordinator for the Florida federation, a consortium of ten universities.

The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative was established in 1995 and is intended to acknowledge the contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. Read more on the awards and previous award winners.

Awards will be presented to each of the honorees at the 2015 Biennial ICPSR Meeting on Thursday, October 1.

Aug 17, 2015

View other headlines