ICPSR Awards

The Flanigan, Miller, and Simmons Awards

Headshots of Flanigan, Miller, and Simmons

As part of its mission to support the social sciences, ICPSR presents biennial awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their service to the social science community.


The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative

The Flanigan Award was established in 1995 and is intended to acknowledge the contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. The award is named for William H. Flanigan, who served as ICPSR Official Representative from the University of Minnesota for 37 years, from ICPSR's inception in 1962 until 2000. He also served as Chair of the ICPSR Council from 1991 to 1993.


The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences

The Miller Award was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. The award is named for Warren E. Miller, a founder of ICPSR and its first Executive Director, who demonstrated throughout his career exemplary service to the social science community and a talent for building institutions that have survived beyond his direct involvement and continue to prosper.


The Piper A. Simmons Award for Social and Behavioral Research Data Contributions

The Simmons Award was established in 2022 to recognize the outstanding effort of a data contributor to share important data contributing significantly to social and behavioral research. This award is named for our colleague Piper Simmons, who served as an ICPSR Acquisitions champion during her 32+ years of service. Piper, who retired in 2019 from ICPSR, passed away in 2022 and left a legacy of passionately working with researchers to navigate data sharing through ICPSR.


Flanigan Award Winners


James A. Jacobs (2023)

Jane Fry (2021)

Ron Nakao (2019)

Bobray Bordelon (2017)

Michael Martinez (2015)

Daniel C. Tsang (2013)

Wendy Watkins (2013)

Paula Lackie (2011)

Laine Ruus (2011)

Diane Geraci (2009)

Libbie Stephenson (2007)

Ilona Einowski (2005)

Chuck Humphrey (2005)

Ed Nelson (2005)

Lennart Brantgärde (2003)

Ann Gray (2001)

Phil Sidel (2001)

Kathy Isaacson (1999)

Ann Janda (1999)

Siegfried Vogt (1999)

JoAnn Dionne (1997)

Judith Rowe (1997)

Bjorn Henrichsen (1995)

Simmons Award Winners


Surveys of Consumers (2023)

Claire Kamp Dush (2022)

Wendy Manning (2022)



Award Procedures

Flanigan and Miller Award Procedures

The ICPSR selection committee will consist of ICPSR staff and faculty appointed by the director. Nominations are solicited in January or February of odd-numbered years. 

Simmons Award Procedures

The ICPSR selection committee will consist of five ICPSR staff and faculty appointed by the director based on recommendations from the Staff Advisory Committee and the ICPSR data acquisitions staff. Nominations are solicited by open invitation. 


About the Awards

The ICPSR Awards recognize outstanding contributions to social and behavioral research. The awards are presented during the ICPSR Biennial Meetings, held during the fall of each odd-numbered year.

William H. Flanigan

A long-serving ICPSR Official Representative beginning in 1962 with the inception of ICPSR, William Flanigan also served two terms on the ICPSR Council and as the Council Chair in the 1990s. William H. Flanigan is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the University of Minnesota and the author of several important books on electoral behavior.

Warren E. Miller

Warren E. Miller was the founder of ICPSR and its first executive director. He also founded the Center for Political Studies in the Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan, and was active in the American National Election Studies. He was a Professor of Political Science at the U-M from 1956 until 1980 and a Regents' Professor at Arizona State University until his death in 1999. He was one of the authors of The American Voter, a landmark work on voting behavior.

Piper A. Simmons 

Piper A. Simmons was known for her passion and knack for finding data depositors in a sea of lost data. As a member of ICPSR’s Acquisitions team, she often tracked down important data and supported depositors through the data deposit and dissemination process. Her work significantly and thoughtfully expanded ICPSR’s archival holdings over three decades. She played a key role in helping data depositors, assisting researchers with data management plans, and establishing ICPSR's data acquisition leads workflow.


Nomination Forms


Simmons Award Submission Form


Flanigan Award and Miller Award Submission Form