ICPSR Announces Recipients of the 2021 Warren E. Miller and William H. Flanigan Awards!



ANN ARBOR – ICPSR is pleased to announce that Ron S. Jarmin has been named the recipient of the 2021 Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences, and Jane Fry has been named the recipient of the 2021 William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative. 

Miller Award winner Ron S. Jarmin is acting director, deputy director, and chief operating officer of the U.S. Census Bureau. Jarmin performed the nonexclusive functions and duties of the director from July 2017 to January 2019 and previously served as the associate director for economic programs. He led the team for the 2017 Economic Census, overseeing a move to 100 percent Internet data collection and leveraging enterprise investments to minimize system, application, and dissemination costs. Data products from the economic census provide the foundation for key measures of economic performance, including the nation’s gross domestic product.

From 2011 to 2016, Jarmin served as the assistant director for research and methodology. He oversaw a broad research program in statistics, survey methodology, and economics aimed at improving economic and social measurement within the federal statistical system. Since beginning his career at the Census Bureau in 1992, he has also served as the chief economist, chief of the Center for Economic Studies, and as a research economist.

Jarmin holds a PhD in economics from the University of Oregon. An elected fellow of the American Statistical Association, he has published papers in the areas of industrial organization, business dynamics, entrepreneurship, technology and firm performance, urban economics, data access, and statistical disclosure avoidance.

Flanigan Award winner Jane Fry, active in the data community at Canada’s Carleton University for over 20 years, received an MLIS from San José State University (San José, CA) in 2014, an MA in Sociology from Carleton University in 1995, and a BA (Hons) from Carleton University in 1990. In 2018 she received the Professional Achievement Award at Carleton University for her many contributions. On a national level, Fry currently serves on the DLI External Advisory Committee (Statistics Canada), representing her data colleagues in the Ontario region, as well as nationally.  She also continues to be actively involved with the New Digital Research Infrastructure Organization (NDRIO) and Portage, the research data management service of NDRIO.

In addition to substantial experience and knowledge in Data Services within an academic library, Fry also has very strong skills in research data management, data literacy, and teaching. For that reason, she is regularly invited to lead workshops on data-related topics in local, national, and international arenas. Fry is also a co-instructor for a summer course on providing data services at ICPSR.

Fry has a strong public service orientation, which leads her to be actively involved in a number of Library committees, as well as committees in the Carleton University community, and committees on the provincial, national, and international levels. This includes being co-chair of the DDI Training Working Group. From 2016 to 2020, Fry served as the Canadian member of ICPSR’s Governing Council, and she is always willing to pitch in to help train ICPSR Representatives on how to maximize their institutions’ use of ICPSR data and resources. She loves data and is always eager to discuss it with her colleagues at the Library and anywhere else.

The awards will be presented to each of the honorees on Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2021, at the ICPSR Biennial Meeting.  


About ICPSR-Sponsored Awards

The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative was established in 1995 and is intended to acknowledge the contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. Read more on the awards and previous award winners.


Contact: Dory Knight-Ingram



ICPSR Biennial Meeting 2021

ICPSR-Sponsored Awards


Aug 17, 2021

View other headlines