ICPSR Council seeks nominees for new members

The ICPSR Council serves as the executive committee for ICPSR member institutions.  The Council sets general policy for the Consortium, approves fees and budgets, and performs other duties.  The Council consists of twelve members serving four-year terms. Six new members are elected by the Official Representatives every second year.
The Nominating Committee solicits your suggestions of persons with the experience, ability, and wisdom to serve on the Council.  Responsibility and willingness to work are also vital.  The Council meets three times each year, and members must devote time between meetings to review materials and undertake committee tasks.
The best way for the Nominating Committee to prepare a strong slate is to have suggestions from Official Representatives and other friends of the Consortium.  We seek a diversity of people and perspectives.  You may nominate someone from your own institution, or anyone you think is qualified. All Council members must be affiliated with member institutions.  Council members need not be current or former Official Representatives, but they should be active supporters of the social science research enterprise.  
The slate of six nominees will be emailed to Official Representatives during early fall 2013, and the slate will be approved by electronic ballot following the OR Meeting in October, during which there will be an opportunity for write-in nominations, as before.  Newly elected members of Council will be seated at the first meeting of Council in 2014.
The Nominating Committee also nominates one of the continuing members to serve a two-year term as Council Chair.  We welcome your suggestions about who should serve in this position.
These are the Council members of the Nominating Committee:
  • Rogelio Saenz, Chair, University of Texas at San Antonio 
  • G. Sayeed Choudhury, Johns Hopkins University
  • Paul N. Courant, University of Michigan
  • Catherine A. Fitch, University of Minnesota
  • Gregory N. Price, Morehouse College
  • Barbara Schneider, Michigan State University
Thomas M. Carsey (Political Science, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill) and Margaret Hedstrom (School of Information, University of Michigan) have also agreed to serve on the Nominations Committee. 
Please send your suggestions to a special email address we have created: 
In doing so, please provide a brief summary of the individual's qualifications, and make sure that the nomination reaches us by March 31, 2013. It would also be very helpful if you explained in your nomination why this person's expertise would be valuable to ICPSR.
For your information, a list of the current members of the Council is found here: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/content/membership/governance/council.html

Mar 22, 2013

View other headlines