ICPSR Council Seeks Nominations for New Council Members

The ICPSR Council serves as the executive committee for ICPSR member institutions.  The Council sets general policy for the Consortium, approves fees and budgets, and performs other duties.  It consists of twelve members serving four-year terms. Six new members are elected by the Official Representatives every second year.
The Nominating Committee solicits your suggestions of persons with the experience, ability, and wisdom to serve on the Council.  Responsibility and willingness to work are also vital.  The Council meets three times each year, and members must devote time between meetings to review materials and undertake committee tasks.
The best way for the Nominating Committee to prepare a strong slate is to have suggestions from Official Representatives and other friends of the Consortium.  We seek a diversity of people and perspectives.  You may nominate someone from your own institution, or anyone you think is qualified. All Council members must be affiliated with member institutions.  Council members need not be current or former Official Representatives, but they should be active supporters of the social and behavioral science research enterprise.
The slate of six nominees will be announced to Official Representatives during early fall 2015, and the slate will be voted upon by electronic ballot following the OR Meeting in October, during which there will be an opportunity for write-in nominations, as before.  Newly elected members of Council will be seated at the first meeting of Council in 2016.
The Nominating Committee also nominates one of the continuing members to serve a two-year term as Council Chair.  We welcome your suggestions about who should serve in this position. 

In addition to two additional members to be appointed shortly by Council, these are the members of the Nominating Committee:

Christopher H. Achen, Princeton University; achen@princeton.edu
Marilyn Andrews, University of Regina; Marilyn.Andrews@uregina.ca
Tony N. Brown, Vanderbilt University; tony.n.brown@vanderbilt.edu
John Fox, McMaster University; jfox@mcmaster.ca
Linda J. Waite, University of Chicago; l-waite@uchicago.edu
Carl Lagoze, University of Michigan; clagoze@umich.edu


You should feel free to communicate directly with the members of the Nominating Committee (listed above), but it will help us if you send your suggestions to a special email address we have created: councilnominees@icpsr.umich.edu In doing so, please provide a brief summary of the individual's qualifications, and make sure that the nomination reaches us by April 3, 2015. It would also be very helpful if you explained in your nomination why this person’s expertise would be valuable to ICPSR.
For your information, a list of the current members of the Council is below.
Thank you very much for your help with this important task.
George Alter
Director, ICPSR
Current members of the ICPSR Council:
Terms ending 2016:
Christopher H. Achen, Princeton University (Political Science)
Marilyn Andrews, University of Regina (Spatial & Numeric Data Services)
Tony N. Brown, Vanderbilt University (Sociology)
Carl Lagoze, University of Michigan (School of Information)
John Fox, McMaster University (Social Statistics)
Linda J. Waite, University of Chicago (Sociology)
Terms ending 2018:
Janet M. Box-Steffensmeier, Ohio State University (Political Science)
Robert S. Chen, Columbia University & CIESIN (Geography)
Philip N. Jefferson, Swarthmore College (Economics)
Chandra L. Muller, University of Texas at Austin (Sociology)
Ronald Nakao, Stanford University Libraries (Data & Computational Social Science)
William Vega, University of Southern California (Health and Aging)


Mar 12, 2015

View other headlines