ICPSR seeks nominations for Flanigan and Miller Awards



As part of its mission to support the social and behavioral sciences, ICPSR presents biennial awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their service to the social science community. We are seeking your nominations for these two awards.
The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. Warren E. Miller, a founder of ICPSR and its first Executive Director, demonstrated throughout his career exemplary service to the social science community and a talent for building institutions that have survived beyond his direct involvement and continue to prosper.
The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Representative was established in 1995 and acknowledges significant contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. The award is named after William H. Flanigan, who served as ICPSR Official Representative from the University of Minnesota for 37 years, from ICPSR's inception in 1963 until 2000. He also served as Chair of the ICPSR Council from 1991 to 1993.
Visit our ICPSR awards page for more information on previous award recipients.
The ICPSR Prizes Committee is constituted in odd-numbered years to select candidates for these awards.  We are fortunate to have these members of the Committee for 2015: Janet M. Box-Steffensmeier (Ohio State University) (previous Miller Award recipient) and Ron Nakao (Stanford University), ICPSR Council representatives; Kathleen Mullan Harris (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) and Ms. Wendy Watkins (Carleton University), previous Miller Award Recipient and Flanigan Award Recipient respectively; and Sue Hodge, ICPSR staff representative.
Please send your nominations to this special email address: mf-awards@icpsr.umich.edu 
We greatly appreciate a brief summary of the individual's qualifications and explanation of why the nominee is a worthy recipient. The Prizes committee will consider the nominations, make a final determination of the award winners, and inform ICPSR Council of their decision. The awards will be given during the ICPSR Biennial Meeting of Official Representatives held September 30-October 2, 2015, in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
Nominations are due no later than April 3. We welcome your recommendations of outstanding individuals for these two awards.



Mar 16, 2015

View other headlines