ICPSR announces recipients of the 2019 Warren E. Miller and William H. Flanigan awards

Photo of 2019 ICPSR award winners Raj Chetty, Judith Torney-Purta, and Ron Nakao


ANN ARBOR, MI – ICPSR is pleased to announce that Raj Chetty and Judith Torney-Purta have been named the recipients of the 2019 Warren E. Miller Award, and Ron Nakao has been named the recipient of the 2019 William H. Flanigan Award. The awards will be presented to each of the honorees at the 2019 Biennial ICPSR Meeting on Thursday, Oct. 17.

Miller Award winner Raj Chetty, William A. Ackman Professor of Economics at Harvard University, specializes in public economics. Some of Chetty's recent papers focus on equality of opportunity in the United States, and the long-term impact of teachers on students' performance. Chetty was offered tenure at Harvard University at the age of 28 and accepted at 29, becoming one of the youngest tenured faculty in the history of Harvard's economics department. He is a recipient of the John Bates Clark Medal and a 2012 MacArthur Fellow. Currently, he is also an advisory editor of the Journal of Public Economics. Chetty will deliver the ICPSR 2019 Biennial Meeting Keynote, speaking about “Improving Equality of Opportunity in America: New Insights from Big Data.”

Miller Award winner Judith Torney-Purta is Professor Emerita of Developmental Science and Educational Psychology at the University of Maryland. Among her many roles, she was co-editor of the Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology and is a member of the US National Committee for the International Union of Psychological Science. She was elected to the National Academy of Education in 2014 and is a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and of the American Psychological Association (APA); she won the APA Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology. Torney-Purta was the senior author of a book reporting the results of the first IEA (International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement) Civic Education Study in 1975 and the author or editor of five books (as well as many chapters and articles) on the second IEA Civic Education Study (which collected data from 140,000 adolescents in 29 countries in 1999-2000). Torney-Purta spearheaded the deposit of these data at ICPSR. She was made an Honorary Member of the IEA General Assembly in 2001 (the first woman to be so honored). Torney-Purta was instrumental in the creation of ICPSR's Civic Learning, Engagement, and Action Data Sharing (CivicLEADS) project and serves on CivicLEADS' advisory committee. 

Flanigan Award winner Ron Nakao is a Social Science Data Librarian and Economics Librarian at Stanford. Nakao supports Stanford's researchers with Data Management Plans including sharing and preserving data, and supports faculty, research staff and students on the use of statistical software and more. He is currently Stanford's Representative to two Social Science Data Archives, ICPSR and the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, and has previously been a board member at the Association of Public Data Users (APDU) and the Data Documentation Initiative (DDI) Alliance. Nakao has been an ICPSR representative for nearly 20 years. He is an advocate for ICPSR both internally at Stanford and externally at organizations such as IASSIST. As an OR, he has taught in the ICPSR Summer Program for several years on the delivery of data services, and has led a bootcamp which is a key introduction of ICPSR to sometimes over 60 attendees every two years. Nakao served on the ICPSR Governing Council from 2014 to 2018.


About the awards

The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative was established in 1995 and is intended to acknowledge the contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. Read more on the awards and previous award winners.


Contact: Dory Knight-Ingram


2019 Biennial ICPSR Meeting (registration closes Sept. 10, 2019)

ICPSR-Sponsored Awards


Jul 23, 2019

View other headlines