ICPSR Announces Winner of 2015 Research Paper Competition for Undergraduates

ICPSR is pleased to announce the winner of our 2015 Research Paper Competition for Undergraduates.

Tiffany Foster (B.A., Psychology) of the Hiram College earned first-place in the ICPSR Undergraduate Competition with her paper “Social Information Processing Mediates the Relationship between Effortful Control and Peer Success in First Graders. The paper used the study, NICHD Study of Child Care and Youth Development, to test the way in which children process social information and how that relates to their success with peers. 

Foster recently graduated Summa Cum Laude and received the Psi Chi Award, the Jay Michael Schechter Scholarship, and the Thomas Wayne Grant Prize. She served an internship with the Head Start Program in Willowick, Ohio.  At Hiram College’s Celebration of Research and the Ohio Undergraduate Psychology Research Conference, Foster presented her research, "Effortful Control Predicts Peer Success in First Graders."  She is presently working as an aide in a special education classroom and completing a research project on school-based interventions to build children’s resilience, which she hopes to have published in the near future. Her future plans include pursuing an advanced degree in clinical child psychology and continued teaching and researching.
The first-place winners received $1,000 and the winning paper is published on the ICPSR Web site and will be featured in a special edition of the ICPSR Bulletin. 
We are also pleased to announce the 2016 ICPSR Research Paper Competitions for Undergraduates and Graduate Students and invite submissions from students and recent graduates at member institutions. The purpose of the competitions is to highlight exemplary research papers based on quantitative analysis. The awards are $1,000 for first place and $750 for second place in each category and publication on the ICPSR Research Paper Competition WinnersWeb site and in a special edition of the ICPSR Bulletin for the first place winners. See the competitions Web site for details. Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2016.



May 27, 2015

View other headlines