Administrative Business


As part of its mission to support the social sciences, ICPSR presents biennial awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their service to the social science community. These awards are announced at the biennial ICPSR Meeting.

The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. Warren E. Miller, a founder of ICPSR and its first Executive Director, demonstrated throughout his career exemplary service to the social science community and a talent for building institutions that have survived beyond his direct involvement and continue to prosper.

The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Representative was established in 1995 and acknowledges significant contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. The award is named after William H. Flanigan, who served as ICPSR Official Representative from the University of Minnesota for 37 years, from ICPSR's inception in 1963 until 2000. He also served as Chair of the ICPSR Council from 1991 to 1993.

The ICPSR Prizes Committee, charged with selecting candidates for these awards, is newly constituted in odd numbered years and includes the following members for 2017: Kathleen Mullan Harris (University of North Carolina Chapel Hill), previous Miller Award Recipient; Michael Martinez (University of Florida), previous Flanigan Award Recipient; Jane Fry (Carleton University) and Verna Keith (Texas A&M University), ICPSR Council representatives; and Margaret Levenstein, Director, ICPSR.

The data community was asked to nominate individuals for these awards in early 2017. The awards will be presented during the ICPSR Biennial Meeting Awards Banquet held on October 12, 2017, in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

ICPSR Council Elections

ICPSR is governed by a 12-person Council whose members are elected by the members of ICPSR. Council members serve four-year terms, and six new Council members are elected every two years. The Council acts on administrative, budgetary, and organizational issues on behalf of all the members of ICPSR.

ORs were asked to nominate individuals for the open seats in early 2017. The Council slate for the 3/2018-2/2022 will be announced at the OR Meeting.

Need Meeting Space on Friday or Saturday?

The OR Meeting brings together attendees from other associations and groups that might be served by gathering officially after the OR Meeting concludes. ICPSR has reserved several conference rooms in the Perry Building to enable attendees to gather in person on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning. Want to reserve a room? Please contact Michelle Overholser.