ICPSR-Sponsored Awards

As part of its mission to support the social sciences, ICPSR presents biennial awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their service to the social science community.

The Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences was initiated in 1993 to recognize individuals who have had a profound impact on social science research and infrastructure. The award is named for Warren E. Miller, a founder of ICPSR and its first Executive Director, who demonstrated throughout his career exemplary service to the social science community and a talent for building institutions that have survived beyond his direct involvement and continue to prosper.

The William H. Flanigan Award for Distinguished Service as an ICPSR Official Representative was established in 1995 and is intended to acknowledge the contributions of individuals representing ICPSR member institutions. The award is named for William H. Flanigan, who served as ICPSR Official Representative from the University of Minnesota for 37 years, from ICPSR's inception in 1963 until 2000. He also served as Chair of the ICPSR Council from 1991 to 1993.

Submit a Nomination

Flanigan Award Winners

Award Procedures and Presentation

The ICPSR Prizes Committee is appointed by the ICPSR Council Chair to secure nominations for the Miller and Flanigan awards. Those nominations are solicited in January of odd-numbered years, with a due date of May 1. The Prizes Committee consists of two members of Council, a previous Miller Award winner, a previous Flanigan Award winner, and a member of the ICPSR staff. The awards are presented during the ICPSR Biennial Meetings, held during the fall of each odd-numbered year.

About the Awards

The ICPSR Awards honor two scholars who made significant contributions to social science:

William H. Flanigan

A long-serving ICPSR Official Representative beginning in 1962 with the inception of ICPSR, William Flanigan also served two terms on the ICPSR Council and as the Council Chair in the 1990s. Flanigan is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the University of Minnesota and the author of several important books on electoral behavior.

Warren E. Miller

Warren Miller was the founder of ICPSR and its first executive director. He also founded the Center for Political Studies in the Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan, and was active in the American National Election Studies. He was Professor of Political Science at the U-M from 1956 until 1980 and a Regents' Professor at Arizona State University until his death in 1999. He was one of the authors of The American Voter, a landmark work on voting behavior.