ICPSR Bulletin, Fall 2019

Fall 2019   |   Vol. 39, No. 3
Left to right, Ron Nakao, Jane Fry, and Bobray Bordelon
Video rewind: The 2019 ICPSR Biennial Meeting

A biennial gathering to remember

Dory Knight-Ingram, EditorIn October, over 170 attendees from 86 institutions networked and explored a wealth of data resources at the action-packed 2019 ICPSR Biennial Meeting in Ann Arbor. This year’s theme was “Data Storytelling." Besides attending the many engaging workshops, we tuned in to a great keynote message from Harvard Economist Raj Chetty, who talked about “Improving Equality of Opportunity in America: New Insights from Big Data.” Also, catch a glimpse of some of our community's stars who stopped by the red carpet for some fun exchanges with ICPSR’s Bianca Monzon, Kil-Sang Kim, and Abay Israel. Another meeting highlight came as we celebrated the work of 2019 Miller Award winners Judith Torney-Purta, Professor Emerita of Developmental Science and Educational Psychology at the University of Maryland, and  Raj Chetty, a Professor of Economics at Harvard University; and  2019 Flanigan Award winner (and ICPSR rep and ex-Council member) Ron Nakao, a Social Science Data Librarian and Economics Librarian at Stanford. Meeting recordings and presentation slides are being uploaded as available on our 2019 ICPSR Biennial Meeting playlist

In other recent ICPSR news, we were thrilled to announce a new distinction for ICPSR: CoreTrustSeal Certification! Acquiring CoreTrustSeal certification makes transparent to our stakeholders, including funding agencies now encouraging certification, the trustworthiness of our repository. 

We also announced some new data projects, including the Child and Family Data Archive, the College and Beyond II project, and the important work of ICPSR researchers Libby Hemphill, Amy Pienta, Dharma Akmon, and others to secure a $1 million in grant for groundbreaking research on data curation. Those are just some of the amazing headlines in this edition of the ICPSR Bulletin Newsletter. Scroll down for so much more good news about data stewardship. 

Thanks for reading, and Happy Holidays!

Dory Knight-Ingram

Editor's picks
CoreTrustSeal board approves ICPSR as a core certified repository
New projects
Margaret C. Levenstein is shown in video on data equity project
Video: ICPSR Director Margaret Levenstein talks about a University of Michigan project to build a framework for equitable use of data. 
Featured data
A transgender man leave the house while taking on cell phone
Two people point to a laptop computer screen (computer screen not shown)
Pictured, from left to right, are Flanigan Award winner Ron Nakao, and Miller Award winners Judith Torney-Purta and Raj Chetty.
ICPSR honored three recipients of the 2019 Warren E. Miller and William H. Flanigan awards at the 2019 ICPSR Biennial Meeting in Ann Arbor.
Pictured, from left to right, are Flanigan Award winner Ron Nakao, and Miller Award winners Judith Torney-Purta and Raj Chetty.
Clockwise, from left to right: A.J. Million, Allyson Flaster, John Lemmer, and Trisha Martinez
Webinar about CivicLEADS December 4, 2019, 1 to 2 pm EST
Did you miss this webinar? Here's a link to the recording on ICPSR's YouTube Channel. 
NACDA Program on Aging Webinar, Resources for Gerontoligical and Social Sciene Researchers, Wednesday, December 11, 2019, 2 pm EST, icpsr.umich.edu
Join us on Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2019, from 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST for "Resources for Gerontological and Social Science Researchers," hosted by NACDA.
Webinar alert: Joins us for "An Overview of the 2020 ICPSR Summer Program," Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020,  2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST.
ICPSR Research Paper Competition Submissions due January 31
Are you participating in (or helping promote) the ICPSR Paper Competition? We accept entries of papers for analyses on any topic using data from ICPSR. The purpose of the competitions is to highlight exemplary research papers based on quantitative analysis that uses ICPSR data. We invite submissions from students and recent graduates at ICPSR member institutions. 
Want a printable, text-only version of this newsletter? We've got it covered.
See the archive of ICPSR Bulletin Newsletters.
Special thanks to Aditi Sheth, Anna Shelton, Shelly Petrinko, Wendi Fornoff,
Sarah Pearson, Michael Iannaconne, and Jenna Tyson.