Log In/Create Account

DIVISION: Added: Census Division

CENSUS DIVISION:  Census divisions are groupings of states
that are subdivisions of the four census regions. There are
nine divisions, which the Census Bureau adopted in 1910 for
the presentation of data. The divisions and the states
included in them are:

 - U.S. TERRITORIES: American Samoa, Fed Micronesia, Guam,
   Palau, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands.
 - NEW ENGLAND: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New
   Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
 - MIDDLE ATLANTIC: New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania.

 - EAST NORTH CENTRAL: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and
 - WEST NORTH CENTRAL: Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri,
   Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.
 - SOUTH ATLANTIC: Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida,
   Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina,
   Virginia, and West Virginia.

 - EAST SOUTH CENTRAL: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, and
 - WEST SOUTH CENTRAL: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and
 - MOUNTAIN: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, 
   New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming.

 - PACIFIC: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, and
0 US Jurisdiction/Territory 1200.9%
1 New England 9607.1%
2 Mid-Atlantic 2,06115.3%
3 East North Central 2,26016.8%
4 West North Central 1,0417.8%
5 South Atlantic 2,02115.1%
6 East South Central 7055.3%
7 West South Central 1,1048.2%
8 Mountain 1,0728.0%
9 Pacific 2,08415.5%
Total 13,428 100%

Based upon 13,428 valid cases out of 13,428 total cases.

Location: 10-10 (width: 1; decimal: 0)

Variable Type: numeric


Source: This variable was taken from: National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (N-SSATS), 2000.

Copyright: ICPSR has an FAQ on copyright and survey instruments.

Disclaimer: The frequencies for this variable may not be weighted. They are purely descriptive and may not be representative of the study population. Please use with caution and consult the study documentation.